Kevin McCarthy Wins 55th Speaker of the House

Objectivity 4.8 | Credibility 4.8 | Relevance 4.9

Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) was elected 55th Speaker of the House after 15 votes that began on January 3.  During the 14th vote at the end of the roll call as members realized that only one vote was lacking for McCarthy’s victory, persuasive conversations began in hopes of swaying Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) or Rep. Lauren Boebart (R-CO) to change their minds.  In the 15th round of voting, Gaetz switched his vote in favor of McCarthy.  The biggest obstacle that prolonged the voting was the demands from 20 dissidents for numerous reforms in House procedures which would limit the power of the speaker and empower the members.